Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

Awards 2005 breaks all records

“Our industry shows a healthy obsession with raising standards!” That was the conclusion of Fork Lift Truck Association Chairman Richard Baxter, reflecting on this year's record-breaking Awards for Excellence.

With a record number of nominations qualifying as finalists, a record number of votes cast and a record number of Awards presented, it was clear, he said, that the industry cared about raising standards and was making great progress.

Hosted by Mr Baxter and FLTA Vice-Chairman Paul Nichol, Awards 2005 took place in front of a capacity audience at Birmingham's Hilton Metropole on 26th February.

The eagerly anticipated event literally sparked into life with a spectacular opening act that brought together steel-clad Keda Breeze and an angle grinder!

In total, 11 Awards were presented, culminating in a Lifetime Achievement Award for recently retired Terry Foreman. This honour recognised a career spanning a number of key positions in both manufacturing companies and trade organisations.

The four 'people's' Awards, for which everyone in the UK materials handling world had been entitled to vote by postal ballot, went to:

Safety: Palletcap for its contribution to the safe stacking of fragile pallet loads.
Environment: Watts Industrial Tyres for finding new ways of recycling solid tyres.
Ergonomics: Euro-Daewoo for its swing-down bottle carrier, allowing easy exchange of gas bottles.
Innovation: Translift Bendi for the Bendi 3 compact, low-cost 3 wheel articulated truck.

“We are delighted for all of the people and organisations who have received accolades tonight,” said Richard Baxter, “but we also congratulate everyone who made it through to this ceremony as a nominee. We have been amazed by the high quality and sheer variety of their entries. The fact that so many different approaches are being taken to make improvements, from all quarters, bodes well for the industry's future.”

For more information on the Annual Awards for Excellence or the Fork Lift Truck Association, please contact: David Ellison, Chief Executive, Fork Lift Truck Association, Manor Farm Buildings, Lasham, Alton, Hants, GU34 5SL. Tel: 01256 381441 Fax: 01256 381735. Email: mail@fork-truck.org.uk

Photo links for the winners can be found on our homepage on the left hand side

Check Also

Maximising resources in the intralogistics industry

With the fallout from a global pandemic and the repercussions of Brexit to contend with, …

MHW Latest Top Tweets