Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

British Safety Council announces the shortlists for the Health and Safety Champion for 2015

and the Young Health and Safety Champion for 2015 Awards.

The British Safety Council, recognising the valuable role individuals can play in keeping workers and workplaces healthy and safe every day, will be presenting two special individual awards alongside the International Safety Awards at the gala dinner taking place at the Grosvenor House in London on 24 April 2015. These two awards are for “Health and Safety Champion of the Year” and for “Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year”. This will be the third year that the British Safety Council has presented these awards.

This year, more than 100 organisations put forward nominees for these two individual awards. The applicants are from organisations operating in across a range of sectors and territories including the United Kingdom, Africa, Asia, the Middle East and the West Indies.

Individuals from the following organisations have been shortlisted for the Health and Safety Champion Award for 2015:

Ahmed Ismaeel Ali Janahi, Aluminium Bahrain B.S.C., Bahrain
Bill John Innes, North Star Shipping (Aberdeen) Ltd, Aberdeen
Bradley Davis, Basildon Decent Homes Contract – Mulalley & Co Ltd, Woodford Green
David Thomson, CAN (Offshore) Ltd, Aberdeen
Gary Mitchell, BAE Systems Maritime – Naval Ships, Glasgow
Paul Waugh, Engineering Excellence, Diageo Meta Abo Brewery, Ethiopia.

Individuals from the following organisations have been shortlisted for the Young Health and Safety Champion Award for 2015:

Arthur Mason-Callaway, BAE Systems Maritime Services, Portsmouth
Beth Thompson, AR Demolition Ltd, Nuneaton
Chris Joynson, Wrights Services UK Ltd, Ellesmere Port
Georgia Clements, Faithorn Farrell Timms LLP, Orpington
Gordon Hooker, CRC-Evans Offshore, Inverness
Tom Hunt, Mount Anvil, London.

Joscelyne Shaw, acting Policy and Communications Director of the British Safety Council, congratulated those who have been shortlisted for these awards: “On behalf of the Trustees and staff of the British Safety Council we warmly congratulate these committed individuals who have contributed to their organisations’ effective management of health, safety and welfare. These are people who have gone the extra mile over and above their main job roles and responsibilities. We are proud of all of the nominees including those young workers who will be tomorrow’s champions.

“We are delighted to have received so many submissions from organisations, recognising the contributions that these many individuals make every day to their colleagues and others in their workplaces ensuring they remain healthy and safe.

“Our thanks to our panel of judges who have independently adjudicated these two awards – we look forward to the two winners being announced at the Gala Dinner on the 24 April 2015.”

The chair of the panel of judges, Graham Cowan, Trustee of the British Safety Council, will announce the winners at the Gala Dinner on 24 April 2015.

Check Also

Simon Ayling and Adrian Coleman outside the extended Bunting-Redditch facility

Extended Bunting-Redditch facility officially opened

After twelve months construction work, Bunting’s European Managing Director Simon Ayling officially opened the extended …

MHW Latest Top Tweets