Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

CILT Annual Awards for Exellence 2013 winners announced

Many of the UK’s leading professionals in transport, the supply chain and transport planning gathered in London last night for The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport’s Annual Awards Dinner. The Awards, held at one of London’s premier venues – the Lancaster London Hotel – are designed to promote and encourage best practice within the logistics and transport sectors and are supported by organisations and individuals from throughout the industry. This popular event was attended by finalists, sponsors, members and their guests and was hailed as one of the best networking events of the year.

The event was chaired by the President of CILT, Jim Steer FCILT, and hosted by Olympian swimmer Steve Parry. It was attended by over 500 guests.

Awards were conferred in fifteen categories together with CILT’s special award for outstanding achievement, the Sir Robert Lawrence Award, which was presented by CILT board member John Boulter FCILT to John Neill CBE FCILT, Chairman and Group Chief Executive, Unipart Group Limited.

In 1974, John joined Unipart, the parts and services division of the state owned British Leyland. In 1976, aged just 29 years old, he was put in charge of the division. As well as making Unipart one of the Britain’s best known brands for automotive components, he developed logistics services for competitor companies.

The transformation of Unipart into a successful independent company and his influence on supply chain thinking from championing the ‘Unipart Way’ marks John out as a truly deserving recipient.

Other winners on the night included BBC’s Paul Clifton, United Biscuits Ltd, First Great Western, Partner Logistics, CrossCountry, Mott MacDonald, Norbert Dentressangle Logistics, McDonald’s UK and Martin Brower UK & Arla Foods UK.

The winners of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence 2013 are:

McKibbin Research Foundation Grant
Sponsored by Bisham Consulting:
Edward Read, Strategy Development Manager, Defence Logistics School

Logistics and Transport Journalist of the Year
Sponsored by Norbert Dentressangle:
Paul Clifton, BBC South Today’s Transport Correspondent

CILT (UK) Certificate in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year
Sponsored by Page Personnel Logistics:
Albert Wallis – Section Leader, Booker plc

CILT (UK) Diploma in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year
Sponsored by Michael Page Logistics:
SAC Ross Dunbar – RAF Halton

Young Manager of the Year
Sponsored by Pertemps:
Neil Cartwright, Operations Manager – Supplier Fulfilment Direct, Argos

Freight Transport Best Practice
Sponsored by Toyota Materials Handling (UK):
United Biscuits Limited

Passenger Transport Best Practice
Sponsored by GHD:
First Great Western

Information Management
Sponsored by de Poel:

Warehouse Operations
Sponsored by Hays Logistics:
Partner Logistics

Transport Policy, Planning & Implementation
Sponsored by Tachograph Analysis Consultants:
Mott MacDonald

Development of People
Sponsored by de Poel:
Norbert Dentressangle Logistics

Supply Chain Best Practice
Sponsored by Unipart Logistics:
McDonald’s UK and Martin Brower UK

Sponsored by Yusen Logistics:
United Biscuits Limited

Environmental Improvement
Sponsored by Road Haulage Association:
Arla Foods UK

Check Also

Dialight launch ProSite LED floodlight range

Dialight launch ProSite LED floodlight range

Dialight Group, the leader in industrial LED lighting innovation, has launched its new ProSite LED …

MHW Latest Top Tweets