Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

Construction firm’s chance for safety awards

The countdown has begun for entries for the RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards, which honoured more than 550 construction firms among its record 1,400 winners last year.

Businesses and organisations of all sizes and types should start preparing their submissions now to be sure to meet the February deadline for the 2008 celebration of best practice in health and safety.

The construction industry has traditionally been well represented in the awards scheme and last year the safety charity's premier accolade, the Sir George Earle Trophy, went to Costain Major Civil Engineering Division.

Tom Mullarkey, RoSPA Chief Executive, said: “Our winners represent the high performers in health and safety throughout the UK and the world. They lead the way in saving lives and reducing injuries and ill health in the workplace. How well an organisation manages health and safety speaks volumes about its values and professionalism.”

The majority of the awards are non-competitive and mark achievement which is graded at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Those demonstrating continued improvement can win gold medals, Presidents Awards and Orders of Distinction.

The competitive awards go to the best entries in 21 individual industry sectors including: construction – house building; construction – commercial; and engineering construction. There are special awards for workforce involvement, training, occupational health, environmental management and the management of occupational road risk. There is also a trophy for the best organisation operating or based mainly in Scotland.

The awards are sponsored by NEBOSH – The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health.

The presentations will take place from May 13 to May 15 at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole Hotel where there will be three prestigious gala dinners. They run alongside three days of RoSPA conferences and Safety & Health Expo 2008 at the NEC.

Winners can also pick up their awards at the RoSPA Scotland event held in Glasgow in September.

Entries are welcomed from all types of business or organisation, whether public or private sector, and there are many new entrants each year. Judges not only consider accident records, they look for high standards of management and safety performance.

The closing date is February 15, 2008, but organisations should start to prepare their submissions now to avoid a last-minute rush. Full details can be found at www.rospa.com/awards , or more information is available by ringing 0121 248 2090 and e-mailing awards@rospa.com .

Check Also

Metal Contamination Solutions at Interplas

Metal contamination solutions at Interplas

Efficient and proven methods of removing metal during plastics manufacture or recycling is showcased on …

MHW Latest Top Tweets