Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

Cummins Inc overall winner at the Manufacturing Excellence Awards 2014

Cummins Inc, the diesel engine manufacturer based in Darlington, has been named as the Overall Winner at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Manufacturing Excellence Awards 2014.

The company was presented with a trophy at a special ceremony on Tuesday 30 September at WMG, University of Warwick, after winning the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Award for Overall Winner.

Christopher Simpson, Chairman of the Manufacturing Excellence Awards Executive, said:

“The judges were particularly impressed with Cummins’ project with Newcastle University on a major engine development to meet new European environmental legislation, the company’s apprenticeship and graduate schemes, as well as the links employees have forged with local schools in order to inspire young people about engineering.

“Cummins is an outstanding company, and proves that UK manufacturing remains a vibrant and exciting industry.”

Des McMenamin, Plant Manager from Cummins, said:

"This is a fantastic achievement for everyone associated with Cummins in Darlington. This award is acknowledgement of the relentless focus on business improvement that is embraced by all our employees and we are honoured that this has been recognised by the Institution.”

The attached photograph (click on link above) shows from left to right Janice Munday CBE, Director Advanced Manufacturing and Services, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills; Christopher Willoughby, Operations Leader; Desmond McMenamin, Plant Manager; and compere Jeremy Vine.

The evening’s other award winners were:

NatWest Award for Business Development and Change Management
Building Adhesives Limited: Tiling adhesives and grouts manufacturer, based in Stoke-on-Trent.

AESSEAL Award for Customer Focus
Elster Water Metering Limited: Luton-based water and energy meter manufacturer.

Highly commended: Tek-Tanks Ltd: Supplier of water, waste and diesel fuel tanks to the Marine Industry, based in Alton, Hampshire.

Grant Thornton Award for Financial Management
ZF Lemforder UK Ltd: Birmingham-based company that assembles corner units – suspension, drive shaft and brake assemblies for three Land Rover models.

WMG Award for Logistics and Operational Efficiency
Marshall Aerospace and Defence Group: Cambridge-based aircraft maintenance, modification and design company.

The ERA Foundation Award for Best Partnership with Education
Selex ES Ltd: International electronics and information technology business, based in Luton.

Renishaw Award for Innovation in Products and Processes
Altro Ltd: Letchworth-based flooring manufacturer.

Hexagon Metrology Award for Sustainable Manufacturing
Brother Industries (UK) Limited: toner cartridge manufacturers based in Wrexham, Wales.

Manufacturing Advisory Service Award for People Effectiveness
Loadhog Ltd: Sheffield-based transit packaging innovator.

Highly commended: Mabey Bridge Ltd: Chepstow-based manufacturer of steel bridging, infrastructure, wind turbine towers and heavy plated structural steelwork.

Lombard Award for Best SME of Manufacturing Excellence
Mech-Tool Engineering Limited: Darlington-based manufacturer of products that protect people and plants from blast, fire and heat hazards.

Highly commended: Subsea Technologies Limited: Aberdeen-based subsea engineering business.

The Manufacturing Excellence Awards programme has been helping UK manufacturing companies improve for over 30 years. This year marks the launch of a new, streamlined online process aimed at easing the path to gaining individually tailored expert advice.

The Manufacturing Excellence Awards was established in 1982 and is widely recognised in the business world for promoting the very best of UK manufacturing.

The 2014 Manufacturing Excellence Awards is run in partnership with AESSEAL®, The ERA Foundation, Grant Thornton, Lombard, NatWest, Renishaw and WMG. This year’s sponsor is Hexagon Metrology and Supporters are MAS (Manufacturing Advisory Service), the Department for Business and Innovation, the MTC, and Power Panels.

Check Also

Patrick Fetzer, Global CEO, Castolin Eutectic

Castolin Eutectic announces new Mission & Strategy together with new Leadership Team

Under the credo of “Pioneering Industrial Sustainability”, Castolin Eutectic launches in September its growth strategy …

MHW Latest Top Tweets