Hytera logistics and distribution two way radio communication product solutions

Final call for entries into the RoSPA awards 2009

Organisations wishing to enter the RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards 2009 have just one month left in which to submit their applications.

The closing date for entries into this year's celebration of good practice in accident and ill health prevention is February 13.

RoSPA's awards programme has been running for more than 50 years. It is the leading scheme of its type and more than 1,500 winners were honoured last year.

The scheme is open to businesses and organisations of all types and sizes, both in the UK and overseas. Judges not only consider accident records, but also look for high standards of health and safety management.

Roger Bibbings, the charity's occupational safety adviser, said: “Awards represent a ladder of excellence for organisations to climb. Even getting on the first rung can help to motivate teams.

“Given the current financial climate, there could be a temptation to cut corners on health and safety, reduce standards or delay introducing essential protective measures. But there can be no recession when it comes to preventing injuries and ill health, the effort has to be continuous.

“Awards can underpin workforce morale and demonstrate that employers do care about their staff, especially during hard times.”

The majority of the awards are non-competitive and mark achievement which is graded at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Those demonstrating continued improvement can win gold medals, President's Awards and Orders of Distinction.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 21 individual industry sectors such as construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education. There are special awards for workforce involvement, training, occupational health, environmental management and the management of occupational road risk. There is also a trophy for the best organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA's top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy, which was won by Trant Construction Limited from Southampton in 2008.

The awards are sponsored by NEBOSH – The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health. Presentations will take place from May 12 to May 14 at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole Hotel, alongside Safety & Health Expo 2009 at the NEC. Winners can also be presented with their awards at the RoSPA Scotland event held in Glasgow in September.

Full details are available at www.rospa.com/awards/, or call 0121 248 2090 or email awards@rospa.com for more information.

Check Also

Metal Contamination Solutions at Interplas

Metal contamination solutions at Interplas

Efficient and proven methods of removing metal during plastics manufacture or recycling is showcased on …

MHW Latest Top Tweets